Wonderful Tonight

 My two gorgeous boys picked me up from the office to have our anniversary dinner date. It has been my husband’s tradition to bring me a bouquet of roses during our anniversary. So sweet of him! While he’s driving I was looking at him intently and I realized he’s looking more gorgeous today. I don’t know, maybe it’s the effect of him giving me those lovely roses.. haha. He caught me doing that and said “You must be so lucky to have a date with a handsome guy like me!” Well, I must admit he is handsome. Then he continued.. “but I am luckier to have a date with the prettiest, smartest woman I’ve ever known, and that’s you”. Then both of us laughed. We have to end it, I know we are getting cheesy.

 

heading towards the hotel

heading towards the hotel

 Speaking of lucky.. Well, I am definitely so lucky, my boys are dating me at Burj Al Arab – considered as one of the best, most luxurious hotel in the world. It was dubbed as the only seven-star hotel in the world. Well it was an exaggeration though, coz the comment made is that it exceeded the 5 star hotel catgory. At the gate, we were asked if we have a reservation. I answered back, “Dinner for two at Junsui Restaurant at 7”. I once worked as an Accountant for a Travel Agency. Being an accountant, of course I get to know how much does each and every hotels in Dubai cost per night. And you will be surprised to know that the Royal Suite costs USD 18,716 per night! Most of our clients are high profile personalities like the Sultan from Oman or King in Saudi, etc. I must tell you also that the hotel doesn’t welcome those who would like to visit only. The only way you could get in is to stay at the hotel or dine in one of the restaurants. We took the last option since we can’t afford the first one 🙂

at the facade of Burj Al Arab

at the facade of Burj Al Arab

While heading to the hotel, I couldn’t help but admire the design and structure of this iconic skyscraper. It proudly stands on an island in Jumeirah Beach, it’s structure resembling the sail of a ship. Our Hyundai car is moving in front of a black limousine and behind a red ferrari. Oh em gee! Then the vallet driver signals my husband to leave our car.
grey or red?

grey or red?

 
We arrived an hour earlier so we took the opportunity to have a tour inside the hotel. Upon entering the lobby, we were so amazed with its stunning interior designs. Its pillars are made of gold, and the honey comb style grid had impressed us right from the start.
 
stunning design

stunning design

 065

at the lobby

at the lobby

boutique inside the hotel

boutique inside the hotel

at the lobby

at the lobby

 

massive aquarium next to the escalator

massive aquarium next to the escalator

Dining at Junsui
 
Junsui is located at the Ground Mezzanine Floor. It serves authentic Asian delicacies from Thai to Japanese, Chinese and Indonesian. They have a live cooking station at the Indonesian section (stir fried chicken, beef and some seafood). We enjoyed sushi and the dimsum. I was also excited about the dessert which has always been my favourite section. As for my son, since he is only 6.5 months old at that time, we just gave him some fruits and he enjoyed munching on strawberries, blackberry and water melon. The staff were also friendly and the service was impeccable. They were so attentive to our needs. We were billed at AED 895 or USD 244 for the two dinner buffet including our drinks. And since I’m using a Mastercard, I was offered a 20% discount from our total bill.
entrance to the restaurant

entrance to the restaurant

 

celebrating our wedding anniversary

celebrating our wedding anniversary

 

my son enjoying his piece of watermelon

my son enjoying his piece of watermelon

 

live cooking station

live cooking station

 

Junsui logo

Junsui logo

 

our bill

our bill

It was indeed a wonderful night spent with the two most important people in my life.
night view of jumeirah beach hotel while heading back home

night view of jumeirah beach hotel while heading back home

Leave a Reply

