Weekends in Doha

image

My son, Apollo has to go out of the UAE for visa change and the nearest country we have think of is Qatar. He’s born in Dubai, however I flew him to the Philippines when he was just 14 days old and we didn’t finish processing his residency papers so he came back to Dubai with me on a Tourist Visa. My husband is sponsoring his stay and we were advised that in order to transfer to his sponsorship, Apollo needs to get an exit stamp to the UAE. On the other hand, this will also be a wonderful opportunity to visit my sisters, who are both working in this country. Actually, I’ve already been here way back September 2008 where I have worked for a certain oil and gas company for only three months. I didn’t like the job so I went back to Dubai.

poster made by my sister for my son

Welcoming Apollo to Doha

The Reunion of Tres Marias

The Reunion of Tres Marias

dinner at Bennigans Doha

dinner at Bennigans Doha

We stayed with my sisters at Al Muntazah, ‘Twas also their first time to see my son so everyone’s excited. We visited Porto Arabia, otherwise known as “Pearl Qatar”. It is a man-made island that resembles the shape of a pearl (and that’s where they got the name). Here you will find cozy restaurants, retail shops and residential buildings. Well we just did window shopping. After that, we also went to Katara Cultural Village. The next day we did mall hopping to the only 2 largest shopping mall in Qatar – Villagio Mall and Doha City Center. Qatar has improved a lot since the last time I came. A lot of skyscrapers with great architectures have risen on the Corniche area. More buildings are still under construction. Next time I visit here, it will be far more like Dubai.

my nephew told me these are blue tower and corn tower :)

my nephew told me these are blue tower and corn tower 🙂

Meet Oryx, official mascot of Doha Asian Games

Meet Oryx, official mascot of Doha Asian Games

view of Intercont Doha at night

view of Intercont Doha at night

at Porto Arabia

at Porto Arabia

Doha is just an hour travel by plane from Dubai. It was a short plane travel, however, I struggled a lot as I was traveling alone with my son who is just 3 months old. When he cried, I was at a lost. I don’t know how to make him stop. I don’t which thing I have to pick. But thank God we survived.

  • Travel Dates: May 16-18, 2013
  • Via: Emirates Airlines
Leave a Reply

